Photo: WorldSBK

WorldSBK Australia Preview: The three Champions commence battle

The World Superbikes Championship is back for another season, with the battle between Jonathan Rea, Álvaro Bautista and Toprak Razgatlıoğlu for the title expected to be lively once again.


Australia will play host to the season opener with the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit being the location that riders will battle for the first time this year.


This season is all about the number three. On the grid there will be three World Champions, with three different nationalities all riding a bike with a different engine provider.


There has also been a few changes on the grid going into this season. Remy Gardner and Dominique Aegerter will race for GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team, with Tom Sykes also returns to the series with Kawasaki Puccetti Racing.

Danilo Petrucci will race for the Barni Spark Racing Team, while Garrett Gerloff moves to Bonovo Action BMW from GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team, replacing Eugene Laverty.


Friday will see Free Practice One and Free Practice Two take place, with the third and final practise session taking place on Saturday.

Later in the day, Superpole is taking place which will be followed later by the opening race of the season.

The bikes will be back out on track on Sunday for their warm-up session, followed by a Superpole race ahead of the second and final race of the weekend.


Coverage in the United Kingdom will be available on Eurosport and we will have coverage here on the website and across our social media channels throughout the weekend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *