Photo: Formula E

Team of the Season: The Nominees

We have already unveiled our nominees in both the ‘Driver’ and ‘Rider’ of the season categories. Today it’s the turn of the teams and here is who is nominated.


Red Bull (Formula One)


22 races, 21 victories, it’s an impressive stat isn’t it. 

Red Bull had an incredible 2023 season as they secured both the Drivers’ World Championship with Max Verstappen and the Constructors’ World Championship, with Sergio Perez also giving the team their first 1-2 finish in the Driver Standings as well.

The points which Max Verstappen won for himself were enough to secure the Constructor’s title for the Milton Keynes-based team, but Sergio Perez also contributed with two race wins, and nine podiums over the season and a further seven podiums as he beat Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton to second. 

With Verstappen breaking multiple records, the team also broke the record for most consecutive race wins, a record that stood from the 1988 season when McLaren had Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost as their drivers, with 12 consecutive race wins. 


Envision Racing (Formula E)

While Envision Racing missed out on the Drivers title to Andretti’s Jake Dennis, they still had alot to celebrate after they beat Jaguar TCS Racing, their powertrain supplier to the Team’s Championship at the season finale in London. 

Nick Cassidy was the driver that pushed Dennis all the way, but had the experienced Sebastian Buemi alongside him, who finished sixth in the standings, and had a consistent run of points-scoring finishes to help Envision secure the title. 

With Formula E being a series where sometimes finishing is more important than winning, all the team needed was 4 victories over the year to seal the title, with only two retirements all year. 



It wasn’t quite Red Bull levels of dominance for NAPA Racing UK in 2023, but it was the next best thing as they stormed to the BTCC Team’s Championship by nearly 150 points. 

Ash Sutton would take the Driver’s title and 12 of the teams race wins in 2023, with Dan Cammish taking three wins and Daniel Rowbottom with one. 

Sam Osbourne also raced for the team and was eligible for the Jack Sear’s Trophy for drivers yet to record an overall podium finish or Jack Sears Trophy championship at the start of the season, where he finished fourth. Racing (WorldSBK)

It was a really good season for the Aruba.It Racing team in the World Superbikes Championship. 

With 27 races wins, 31 overall podiums, 4 pole positions and 23 fastest laps, Alvaro Baustista won the title by 76 points.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi was his team mate and finished fifth overall taking nine podiums including a race win. 

The team finished top of the Team’s Championship level on points with Pata Yamaha but were crowned Champions on race wins. 


Chip Ganassi Racing (Indycar)

Taking the top two spots in the Indycar drivers championship was Chip Ganassi Racing.

Alex Palou won the Driver’s title ahead of Scott Dixon, with 11 points separating the pair. 

They also had Indycar’s Rookie of the Year, Marcus Armstong racing for the team, With Takuma Sata taking over or the oval circuits. 

Marcus Ericcson also scored some decent results for the team, including second place at the Indy 500 and a win at the season-opening Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *