Photo: Formula E - Simon Galloway

Berlin e-Prix: Cassidy moves within four points of Championship lead with victory

The start was delayed after event security had to deal with protestors on the circuit, who were then removed from the circuit by event security and the police.


After a good start from Pole sitter Robin Frijns and Nico Müller, the game of nobody wanting the lead of the race resumed once again.


The ABT pair took attack mode early, with several of the early front runners activating it for the first time within the opening few laps.


With 21 laps remaining, Pascal Wehrlein and António Félix da Costa created a TAG Heuer Porsche 1-2.


Yesterday’s podium must have fueled Maximilian Günther with a hunger for more as he climbed from 21st on the grid all the way to fifth and was just over a second behind the leader.

Nick Cassidy (Envision Racing) made a move for the lead, with Jake Dennis (Avalanche Andretti) behind in second after 25 laps of the race.


Saturday’s race saw eight different race leaders, and on Sunday we got eight in the opening 12 laps as the drivers easily gave up first spot in the early stages of the race.


Down the rear of the field there were some ‘big hitters in the world of Formula E. André Lotterer, Edoardo Mortara,  Sébastien Buemi and Sam Bird, joined pole sitter Robin Frijns who all have incidents which saw them drop to the rear of the field


With four laps remaining, it was Cassidy who was out in the lead. Dennis remained in second place, while Vergne was in the third and final podium spot, just over a second behind the leader.


As there was no safety car period, no added laps were to be completed, which meant that if Dennis wanted to take victory, he only had a few laps to pass Cassidy in.


As the chequered fell, it was Cassidy who claimed the race win to go within four points of the Championship lead. Dennis finished a race for the first time since Saudi Arabia to take second, with Vergne taking the final podium position in third.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *